Leading the Way Award

The Leading the Way Award honors leaders and leadership styles that others would emulate. This award was established in 2013 by the Ohio Women's Bar Foundation to honor outstanding women lawyers who demonstrate exemplary leadership in the legal profession and their communities and commitment to the promotion and enhancement of women in the legal community by inspiring and mentoring other women to raise their performance to the same high standard. 

In 2018, this award was combined with the Ohio Women's Bar Association's Founders' Award, named after the twenty-six women, along with the first class of founding members, and recognized an outstanding woman attorney who contributed to the legal profession. Together, the OWBA and OWBF continue to honor outstanding women lawyers who demonstrate exemplary leadership.

Leading the Way Award Recipients:

2019 -- Helen Mac Murray (Mac Murray & Shuster LLP)
2018 -- Marilyn McClure-Demers (Nationwide)
2017 -- Michelle Roe (Thirty-One Gifts)
2016 -- The Honorable Betty Montgomery
2015 -- Jeanette Knudsen (The J.M. Smucker Company)
2014 -- Justice Judith Lanzinger (Supreme Court of Ohio)
2013 -- Susan Jacobson (Cardinal Health)

Founders' Award Recipients:

2017 -- Yvette McGee Brown (Jones Day)
2015 -- Judge Benita Y. Pearson (U.S. District Court, Northern District of Ohio)
2013 -- Deborah Platt Majoras (Procter & Gamble)
2011 -- Chief Justice Maureen O'Connor (Supreme Court of Ohio)
2009 -- Judge Mary Jane Trapp (Eleventh District Court of Appeals)
2007 -- Holly Taft Sydlow (U.S. Attorney's Office) & Kerin Lyn Kaminski (Giffen & Kaminski, LLC)
2006 -- Joyce D. Edelman (Porter, Wright, Morris & Arthur, LLP)
2005 -- Mickey Rabin
2004 -- Sandra J. Anderson (Vorys, Sater, Seymour & Pease, LLP)
2003 -- Magistrate Judge Vernelis K. Armstrong (U.S. District Court, Norther District of Ohio, Western Division)
2002 -- Louise P. Dempsey (CSU's Cleveland-Marshall College of Law)
2001 -- Barbara J. Smith (McDonald, Hopkins, Burke & Haber Co., L.P.A.)
2000 -- Magistrate Judge Patricia A. Hemann (U.S. District Court, Northern District of Ohio)
1999 -- Pamela N. Hultin (McCarthy, Lebit, Crystal & Haiman Co., L.P.A.)
1998 -- The Justice Alice Robie Resnick Award of Distinction (Supreme Court of Ohio)

Ohio Women's Bar Association | 7946 Clyo Road, Suite A | Centerville, Ohio 45459| Phone (866) 932-6922 | Email admin@owba.org

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software